Conservation Commission

  About the Commission

 The City of Laconia's Conservation Commission was established in August of 1987 for "the proper utilization and protection of natural resources and for the protection of watershed resources in the City". The Conservation Commission consists of 5 members, up to 3 alternate members, and advisory members. This five member volunteer Commission, appointed by the City Council, is responsible for public outreach and education as well as managing the city-owned conservation lands. 

For information on how the Commission conducts business, please visit the Conservation Commission Rules of Procedure. For information about becoming a member, alternate member, or advisory member for the Laconia Conservation Commission, please contact the Planning Department


 The Conservation Commission is responsible for the following:

  • Preservation and protection of lands in the interest of wildlife and habitats, water quality, and outdoor recreation.
  • Site plan review of Planning Board applications with environmental impacts and concerns - including, but not limited to, wetlands and their buffers, shoreland impacts, rivers and streams, and steep slopes.
  • Review of NHDES wetland permits for compliance with local wetland and shoreland regulations. Please keep in mind that the Conservation Commission acts as an advisory group only.
  • Education and outreach regarding environmental issues and opportunities. 

Helpful Resources

For inquiries please email or call the Conservation Technician or Planning Department at 603-527-1264 or at .

Conservation Commission Members

Name Position Term End
Dean Anson Chairman 2023
Deborah Williams Vice Chair 2024
Michael Foote Member 2024
Lisa Morin Member 2022
Marnie Schulz Member 2024
Ruth O'Hara Alternate Member 2024
Vacant Alternate Member -
Robert Harrington Alternate Member 2024
Stacy Soucy Planning Board Advisory Member 2024
Vacant City Council Advisory Member -